NI: Queen’s University Belfast students triumph in Philpot Curran Moot

NI: Queen's University Belfast students triumph in Philpot Curran Moot

Lonan-Francis Manny, QUB mooting co-ordinator Dr David Capper, Shazana Binti Husaini, Yi Kang Choo and Jana Khalil

Law students at Queen’s University Belfast have been named winners of the 2019/20 Philpot Curran Moot Court Competition.

Yi Kang Choo and Shazana Binti Husaini bested six other university law school teams in the annual competition hosted by Maynooth University Law Society.

The competition, sponsored by A&L Goodbody, is for novice mooters and was organised this year by Maynooth students and moot court convenors Jana Khalil and Lonan-Francis Manny.

The moot problem drafted by Ms Khalil and Mr Manny, and revised by Dr Brian Flanagan and Dr Edana Richardson, was on the subject of tort liability for nervous shock, duty of care and negligence.

The moot is named after the celebrated Irish advocate, parliamentarian, and Master of the Rolls for Ireland (1806-14), John Philpot Curran (1750-1817).

Share icon
Share this article: