NI: Winners of Justice in the Community Awards named

NI: Winners of Justice in the Community Awards named

Northern Ireland’s Justice Minister David Ford has named the winners of the Justice in the Community Awards 2016.

The awards are open to individuals or groups working in the voluntary, community and statutory sectors to support the delivery of justice in Northern Ireland.

Paul McCartney of First Housing Aid and Support Services in Derry was named Justice Champion 2016 in recognition of his work assisting the most vulnerable and marginalised, including street drinkers and rough sleepers.

Mr McCartney also received £1,000 which will be used for his project to benefit the local community.

Nominees were judged by Brendan McGuigan, Chief Inspector of Criminal Justice for Northern Ireland; Una McKernan, deputy chief executive of Northern Ireland Council for Voluntary Action; Jim Smith, project manager for the Book Reserve and Thinking Cup Café; and Karen Pearson of the Department of Justice.

Mr Ford said: “These awards are an opportunity to pay tribute to the exceptional work that is going on within the heart of our community. This is work that we hear so little about, by people who go the extra mile to make Northern Ireland a safer, better place for everyone.

“That these awards are funded by the proceeds of assets seized from criminals makes it all the more satisfying.”

The Minister also congratulated eight ‘highly commended’ award winners from across Northern Ireland:

  • NIACRO RESET Mentoring Team
  • Elaine Morrow, volunteer with the Youth Justice Agency
  • Danny Corr, Zanshin Karate Jutsu DoJo
  • Billy O’Flaherty, Carniny Amateur Football Club
  • Lorna Brown, Grainne Richards & Vicki Kearney, Belfast and Lisburn Women’s Aid
  • Constable Mark McGaritty, Police Service of Northern Ireland
  • Rory Doherty, Quaker Services
  • Mary Hogg, Cookstown Street Angels
  • Share icon
    Share this article: