Thomas Coughlan elected chair of Irish Immigration Lawyers Association

Thomas Coughlan elected chair of Irish Immigration Lawyers Association

Thomas Coughlan

Cork solicitor Thomas Coughlan has been elected as chairperson of the Irish Immigration Lawyers Association (IILA).

The association was founded in 2021 by solicitors specialising in immigration law to promote and improve advice and representation in immigration, citizenship, asylum and EU free movement of persons law through CPD events and information-sharing.

Mr Coughlan is joined on the new committee for 2023/24 by:

  • Taise Azevedo, McGrath Mullan LLP;
  • Shehzad Bajwa, Bajwa Solicitors;
  • Karen Berkeley, Berkeley Solicitors;
  • Aileen Gittens, Poe Kiely Hogan Lanigan LLP;
  • Hiro Ino, Hiro Ino Solicitors;
  • Eoin Joyce, Joyce & Co Solicitors;
  • Albert Llussa, Daly Lynch Crowe & Morris Solicitors LLP;
  • Reza Nezam, RNL Solicitors;
  • Carol Sinnott, Sinnott Solicitors;
  • Colm Stanley, Stanley & Co Solicitors;
  • and Cristina Stametescu, Ferrys Solicitors.

Mr Coughlan told Irish Legal News: “IILA has had a very successful two years since our founding in 2021, and we now move to the next phase in our development.

“The election of a new committee with defined roles and tasks will allow IILA more effectively represent the interests of members to the benefit of our clients and the immigration system more generally.”

Membership of the IILA is open to fully-qualified immigration solicitors who hold practising certificates issued by the Law Society of Ireland working for both applicants and the State. Associate membership is open to trainee solicitors, legal executives and staff working under the supervision of a solicitor member of the association.

Applications for membership can be made by applying through the IILA website or by email to

The association is holding an in-person conference in the Law Society of Ireland on Friday 1 December 2023, 2pm to 6pm.

Share icon
Share this article: