Three new Circuit Court judges nominated

Three new Circuit Court judges nominated

Barristers Gerard Meehan SC and Fiona O’Sullivan SC and solicitor Jennifer O’Brien have been nominated for appointment as Circuit Court judges.

The new nominees will fill vacancies created under the Courts Act 2023, which provides for an increase in the number of ordinary Circuit Court judges from 40 to 45.

Mr Meehan graduated from NUI Galway (now the University of Galway) in 1998 and completed further studies at the King’s Inns in 2004, University College Dublin in 2005 and Trinity College Dublin in 2008.

He was called to the Bar in 2004 and to the Inner Bar in 2022. He was previously appointed to the Construction Contracts Adjudication Panel in 2021.

Ms O’Sullivan graduated from Trinity College Dublin in 1997 and the King’s Inns in 1999. She was called to the Bar in 1999 and to the Inner Bar in 2022.

She was appointed as junior counsel on the Magdalen laundry restorative justice ex-gratia scheme in 2018.

Ms O’Brien graduated from University College Dublin in 1994 and qualified as a solicitor in 1997.

She has lectured at the Law Society of Ireland since 2005 and is a member of the Blanchardstown and Inner City Home Care Association board.

The government has taken the necessary steps to formally advise President Higgins of the nominations in accordance with constitutional practice.

Share icon
Share this article: