Scholarships and prizes awarded to UCC law students

Scholarships and prizes awarded to UCC law students

Pictured: Professor Mark Poustie with students awarded the Quercus Undergraduate College Scholarships.

Scholarships and prizes have been awarded to law students at University College Cork (UCC).

The Quercus Undergraduate College Scholarships, awarded based on the results of the summer 2022 university examinations, were awarded to Pepper Robson, Erin O’Riordan, Niamh Lorraine Fitzpatrick, Eadaoin Therese Gardiner, Aoife Glen Davis, Lucy Ellen Walsh, Diarmaid Michael Byrne, Conor Hanley, Kevin Thomas Fitzpatrick, Stephen Richard Hennebry, Síomha Ellen Ní Ainiféin and Finbarr Robert Wall.

The RDJ Diversity Scholarship, awarded each year to two undergraduate law students from a black, Asian or minority ethnic (BAME) background, was awarded to Caitlin Ong and Chidindu Ukah.

The Southern Law Association Prize for the LLM student with the highest mark for the 15,000 word dissertation was awarded to Emma Jane Byrne.

The A&L Goodbody Company Law Prize for the highest mark in “Company Law: Fundamental Concepts and Doctrines” was awarded to Frank Rogers.

The Comyn Kelleher Tobin Scholarship for the LLM in Children’s Rights and Family Law was awarded to Kate Elizabeth Maher.

The Gerard O’Keeffe Memorial Prize for the highest overall mark in the Law of Torts I and II examinations was jointly awarded to Elaine Isabel Treacy and Mark John Aherne.

The Maples Group Scholarship for students on the LLM Business Law programme was awarded to Benedikt Stähler.

The Matheson Undergraduate Prize in Information Technology Law for the student who achieves the highest mark in the Information Technology Law exam was awarded to John Paul Griffin.

The McCann Fitzgerald Contract Law Bursary was awarded to Paddy McCarthy.

The Brian Dillon Memorial Prize for the undergraduate student who obtains the highest mark in criminal law and obtains a first class honours was awarded to Sarah Kate Lucey.

The Bloomsbury Prize for the highest mark in the First Civil Law examination was awarded to Diarmaid Michael Byrne.

The Oxford University Press Law Prize for the highest overall marks in the second-year undergraduate law programmes at the first attempt, as determined by the Dean of the School of Law, was awarded to Conor Hanley.

In a statement, UCC said: “Everyone at the School of Law would like to congratulate all winners and wish them every success in the future.

“The scholarship and awards ceremony would not be possible without the generosity of our sponsors, partners and donors and we are very grateful for your support over the years.”

Share icon
Share this article: