#InPictures: Past presidents of QUB Law Society reunite

#InPictures: Past presidents of QUB Law Society reunite

Dozens of past presidents of Queen’s University Belfast Law Society reunited at a special event last week.

Padraig Walsh, the current president of QUB Law Society, hosted the gathering of 44 presidents, stretching back as far as Alan Cleland who led the Society in 1962.

Writing on LinkedIn, Mr Walsh said: “One of my priorities when starting out in the role was to update the past presidents board and I am delighted that we have done this.

“Being a lad from the Lower Falls I could never have imagined my name being alongside the likes of Robin Eames, Mary McAleese and the current Lady Chief Justice, Siobhan Keegan.”

He continued: “Thank you to Joe McVeigh, president in 1994 who was the driving force behind the event. Thank you to Dr John Taggart from the School of Law who has been invaluable in organising this project.

“Thank you also to Jason O’Neill and Joanne Harvey from the alumni engagement team who worked ever so hard in reaching out to past presidents.

“As someone who is just about to begin my legal career it was great to receive advice from so many esteemed members of the profession.

“My term in office finishes on 31st July but I have no doubt that this event will have been the highlight of my year.”

Share icon
Share this article: