NI: Fifteen new members of Independent Monitoring Board appointed

Justice Minister David Ford
Justice Minister David Ford

Fifteen people will take up office as new members of the Independent Monitoring Board (IMB) from 1 April 2016, Justice Minister David Ford has announced.

The volunteers will be responsible for observing all aspects of the prison regime in Northern Ireland.

They are:

  • Yvonne Adair
  • John Denvir
  • Ian Hackney
  • Deena Haydon
  • Eithne McAnespy
  • Margaret McCrory
  • Jane McGeary
  • Mary McMahon
  • Harry Montgomery
  • Kathleen Murdock
  • Clare Patton
  • Tanya Quinn
  • Christopher Ralph
  • Graeme Rice
  • Colm Walsh
  • Seventeen serving members were also re-appointed for another term.Mr Ford said: “I welcome the appointment of the new Independent Monitoring Board members. As volunteers they undertake a worthwhile but challenging role in Maghaberry and Magilligan prisons and Hydebank Wood College in Northern Ireland.

    “I also welcome back those members of the current board who are being reappointed for a further term and thank them for their continued support.

    “I would also like to record my sincere thanks to those members of the Board who are standing down, having completed their term of office.”

    Share icon
    Share this article: