Sara Phelan SC re-elected as Bar Council chair

Sara Phelan SC re-elected as Bar Council chair

Pictured: Sara Phelan SC

Sara Phelan SC has been re-elected as chair of the Bar Council of Ireland for the 2023/24 legal year.

She took up the role in 2022, becoming the third woman to ever serve as Bar Council chairperson, and has been re-elected for a second year in line with convention.

She is joined on the newly-elected Bar Council by Ronan Munro SC, Michael F Collins SC, Cathy Smith SC, Denise Brett SC, Michael D Hourigan BL, Tim O’Connor BL, Sean O’Sullivan BL, Tanya Smith BL and Tracy Ennis Faherty BL.

A native of Kilkenny, Ms Phelan was called to the Bar in 1996, having previously qualified and practised as a pharmacist for a number of years, qualifying from Trinity College Dublin in 1988.

She was appointed senior counsel and called to the Inner Bar in 2013. She was admitted to the Bar of England and Wales in 2019 and is a member of Middle Temple, as well as being a qualified mediator and arbitrator.

Her practice spans the South Eastern Circuit and Dublin, with a broad High Court practice that includes personal injury law, child/family law, crime, judicial review/non-jury, chancery, probate and mental health law.

Share icon
Share this article: