Law Society Council election results revealed

Law Society Council election results revealed

The Law Society of Ireland has published the provisional results of its 2023 Council election, with Cavan solicitor Sonia McEntee topping the poll.

Just under 3,000 solicitors voted in this year’s elections, which were the first to use a new eVoting system in a bid to increase turnout.

The full list of the 16 candidates who have provisionally been declared elected are:

  1. Sonia McEntee
  2. Richard Hammond SC
  3. Niamh Counihan
  4. Justine Carty
  5. Keith Walsh SC
  6. Bill Holohan SC
  7. Gary Lee
  8. Valerie Peart
  9. Michele O’Boyle SC
  10. Siún Hurley
  11. Paul Egan SC
  12. Susan Martin
  13. Brendan Cunningham
  14. Paul Keane
  15. Hilary O’Connor
  16. Dónal Hamilton

The results will be confirmed at the Law Society’s AGM on Thursday, which all members are invited to attend in-person or online.

Share icon
Share this article: