Irish Law Awards 2016: Full list of winners

Irish Law Awards 2016: Full list of winners

More than 550 people attended the prestigious AIB Private Banking Irish Law Awards ceremony in the Doubletree by Hilton Hotel on Friday.

Michael McDowell, SC, Bar Council of Ireland was guest of honour at the event, opening the awards with a welcome address. The event was presented by RTÉ presenter Miriam O’Callaghan.

The winners were:

  • Banking, Finance/Restructuring & Insolvency Law Team/Lawyer of the Year: Beauchamps Solicitors, Dublin
  • Connacht Provincial Law Firm of the Year: Callan Tansey Solicitors, Sligo
  • Criminal Law Team/Lawyer of the Year: John M. Quinn & Co. Solicitors, Dublin
  • Dublin Law Firm of the Year: Reddy Charlton Solicitors, Dublin
  • Employment Law Firm/Lawyer of the Year: Daniel Spring & Company Solicitors, Dublin
  • Family Law Team/Lawyer of the Year: Mangan& Company Solicitors, Dublin
  • In House Legal Team: Ulster Bank Legal Team, Dublin
  • Irish Language Practitioner of the Year: MacGeehin Toale, Dublin
  • Law Firm Innovation Award: Healy Crowley Ahern, Kerry
  • Law Firm of the Year: ByrneWallace, Dublin
  • Legal Book of the Year: Medical Negligence and Childbirth, Doireann O’Mahony, Bloomsbury Publishing
  • Legal Executive of the Year: Paul Brennan, Eugene F. Collins Solicitors, Dublin
  • Legal Student of the Year: Annie Nevala, University College Cork
  • Legal Website of the Year: Community Law and Mediation
  • Leinster Provincial Law Firm of the Year Over 5 Solicitors:Orpen Franks, Dublin
  • Leinster Provincial Law Firm of the Year Under 5 Solicitors:Dillon Solicitors, Dublin
  • Litigation Case of the Year: Ahern Rudden Quigley, Dublin
  • Munster Provincial Law Firm of the Year Over 5 Solicitors:Ernest J Cantillon Solicitors, Cork
  • Munster Provincial Law Firm of the Year Under 5 Solicitors:Holohan Law, Cork
  • Property, Planning, Probate Team/Lawyer of the Year: Ronan Daly Jermyn, Dublin
  • Public Sector Team/Lawyer of the Year: Eversheds, Dublin
  • Service Provider to the Legal Profession: Diploma Centre, Law Society of Ireland, Dublin
  • Sole Practitioner/Sole Principal of the Year: Susan Webster & Company, Kildare
  • Special Merit Award: Patricia Rickard-Clarke, Dublin
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: His Honour Judge John F. Buckley, Dublin
  • A judging panel chaired by Dr Eamonn G. Hall reviewed each submission in the context of the criteria for each category.

    Dr Hall said: “Year-on-year, the standard and calibre of the submissions for the AIB Private Banking Irish Law Awards are exceptional.

    “They reflect the significant and impressive achievements of solicitors, barristers and legal executives from all over Ireland and the panel of judges greatly admire the many achievements. Congratulations to all the finalists and winners.”

    Tracey Carney, event director, said: “The standard and number of nominations in the 2016 AIB Private Banking Irish Law Awards has been outstanding. The recipients thoroughly deserve their awards in recognition of their achievements in 2015.

    “They’ve demonstrated excellence in their sector and practice and we’re delighted that the awards are able to provide a platform that recognises and showcases the truly remarkable work they do.”

    Patrick Farrell, head of AIB Private Banking, added: “AIB Private Banking is delighted to sponsor this event, recognising the outstanding contributions of the Irish legal sector. The sheer scale of the categories of awards demonstrates the extent to which the legal profession operates and influences society and individual lives. I would like to congratulate the award recipients in all their respective categories.”

    Share icon
    Share this article: